The Northwest Open Water Swimming Association is a membership-based organization. Membership dues and sanctioning fees cover 100% of the costs our our all-volunteer organization. Without our members and their commitment to the sport, their would be no NOWSA.

General membership information

NOWSA membership rates for the 2018 calendar year are:







Lifetime Members

Our Lifetime members are people that understand the value and benefit of marathon swim sanctioning organizations, and actively participate in the give-and-take the sport demands. These members include founders, observers, volunteers, and swimmers with experience ranging from Aspiring to Legendary.

NOWSA is lucky to list the following people as our Lifetime members:





Andrew Malinak
Melissa Nordquist
Scott Lautman
Wendy Van de Sompele

Seattle, WA
Tacoma, WA
Seatac, WA
Vashon Island, WA


Marilyn Bell Di Lascio (Honorary)
Melissa Kegler
Randy Perkins
Steve Walker
Mike Humphreys
Erika Norris
Jerome Leslie

Toronto, ON
Redmond, WA
Bellevue, WA
San Francisco, CA
Kirkland, WA
Seattle, WA
Renton, WA


Zena Courtney
Karl Kingery
Liz Rosen
Melissa Blaustein
David Liano
Lauren Boilini
Cindy Werhane
Jaimie Monahan

Tacoma, WA
Denver, CO
Seattle, WA
San Francisco, CA
Seattle, WA
Seattle, WA
Portland, OR
New York, NY


Michelle Macy
Tricia Elmer
Sally Dillon
Eric Ahearn
Evan Morrison
Rose Filer
Alice Ma
Rijl Barber

Beaverton, OR
Seattle, WA
Issaquah, WA
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
Seattle, WA
San Francisco, CA
Forest Grove, OR


David Cuthbert
Fernette Ramnath
Todd Mason
Tom Grandine
Amanda Winans
Jamshid Khajavi

Bainbridge Island, WA
Seattle, WA
Chehalis, WA
Mercer Island, WA
Seattle, WA
Kirkland, WA